A Modern Love Poem

Magdalena said, she would lick my wounds if it was okay that she got raped when she was young; as long as I still loved her

I said, “woman you know I love you no matter what your daddy did and after all, it is none of my business But, I do own a gun you know!”

Magdalena said, “C’mon chulo, let’s go home make love underneath the moonlight and you can shoot my Pa if you want”

I said, “sshhh “He’s already dead;  we will let him live and let his pain do the killing for us

” She asked, “who cut you?  and was it a knife that did that slice”

I said, “woman you healed my wounds and I cut myself yesterday thinking you were going to leave me”

“and yes that is a cut made by a very sharp knife that i fashioned out of pain

you see I’ve learned my lessons

and now, well have to teach each other how to          forgive”  

Magdalena smiled and gave me a kiss that left me bleeding for more

If love and your touch is like this then let me die forever more

3 thoughts on “A Modern Love Poem

Leave a comment